Søren Kierkegaard

Søren Kierkegaard, (1813 ~ 1855), Denmark;


  • Both Romanticism and Hegel’s Historicism had obscured the individual’s responsibility for his own life.

Three Stages(Forms) of Life

  • Aesthetic
    • seeking sensory enjoyment; slaves of desires;
    • a person in the aesthetic stage often feel angst and emptiness
  • Ethical
    • seriousness and consistency of moral choices;
    • a dutiful person will eventually get tired of the dedicated life
  • Religious
    • only one can move to the religious stage by the personal and complete leap with faith
    • It is the only path to redemption

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s